The following warnings occurred:
Warning [2] Undefined variable $search_thread - Line: 60 - File: showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code PHP 8.1.30 (Linux)
File Line Function
/inc/class_error.php 153 errorHandler->error
/showthread.php(1617) : eval()'d code 60 errorHandler->error_callback
/showthread.php 1617 eval

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Crunching between third and top
Evening fellas. I’ve been driving all sorts of Sevens for many, many years but the (wrong) four speed crash box in the RP always crunches between third and top unless I double de clutch.

The change between second and third is lovely and smooth and going down the box is no problem either.

Should I really have to double de clutch up to top or while I have the box out of the car should I be looking for anything obvious.

The box is nice and quiet and the internal condition appears to be excellent, so I don’t really want to change the gearbox if I don’t have to.

Does anyone with a penchant for gearboxes have any sage advice?
The reason you have to double declutch on the crash 4 speed box is because 3rd and 4th are actually engaged via dog clutches, rather than by sliding pinions (as is 1st and 2nd) This was to give a pair of constant mesh gears that slide together on both the mainshaft and the layshaft, giving what is euphemistically called a 'silent third'. In my experience, dog clutches tend to be less forgiving when changing gear than sliding pinion boxes. My Landrover has dog clutch engagement of 1st and 2nd and that can be a pig when changing down into second.

My own car has a crash 4 speed and is as robust as hell. My only criticism is that changes from 3rd to top and down again can be a bit heavy as one is sliding two gears along two shafts. Otherwise is is a super box to use.

Sage advice: Stick with it.
Hi Both